Critique on Portraits

Home Forums Critique Critique on Portraits

This topic contains 22 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by Joshua 7 years ago.

• Subscribe Favorite

I started doing portrait exercises today, trying to follow the advice Kim gave me.

My ultimate goal is to be able to draw portraits that actually can be easily recognised as who I'm trying to draw.

I have very limited experience drawing portraits. I've followed a few online tutorials on portrait drawing throughout the year, although I haven't actively been practising it. Looking back through all the drawings I've done since I started learning in January, before today I had done exactly nine pages of portraits (which, for the most part, was one face per page). I don't believe I've ever attempted to draw a portrait quickly.

Before starting doing the face drawing exercises on this site, I decided to do a self-portrait as a reference (if I do a self-portrait once every few weeks, I can use that to track my progress). I also wanted to see how much I've improved since my early attempts at self-portraits at the beginning of the year. Since those were in pen, and I'll be doing the future exercises on this site in pencil, I decided to do both a pen and a pencil self-portrait today as a fair reference to both.

This (link) is the first portrait (self or otherwise) I ever did, 319 days ago. This is another self-portrait I did two weeks later, after looking at a few online tutorials.

Here are the two self-portraits I did today, before starting the timed exercises:
    Pen
    Pencil