Issues with construction

Home Forums Practice & Advice Issues with construction

This topic contains 6 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Paladin Ryczek 5 years ago.

• Subscribe Favorite

Hey! New here and just have to say that I really enjoy the site. Im struggling with construction and what techniques to use, it's just that I can't get a concrete thing to build on. Should I just pick one and go with it? e.g Reilly, loomis or w/e, I'm working on anatomy too, it's just that I struggle getting my figures in perspective in composition. I can't redraw my characters with the same shapes and forms not having my construction down and when hear I should use different things from circles to simple boxes, triangles, cylinders, ect... gets kind of confusing. I guess I partially answered my own question but I don't want to reinvent the wheel. Any input is appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Please support Line of Action

Support us to remove this

So I’m pretty new to all of this myself so I feel like maybe I actually have a clue what I’m talking about here. I think it might be best just to find what works best for you at this time For me I’m having shit trying to do the boxes and cylinders and shapes of that nature but at the same time I feel like they’re very important so I don’t want to give up on those completely. But thinking about it at the same time I guess we could get ourselves into some really bad habits if we just go our own way.

Right now I have gone back to Loomis head and I’m going to focus strictly on that until I finally get it. Then I’m going to start working on getting my figures more proportional. Using the manikin shapes and stuff. Promo.com has fairly decent videos if you haven’t already found good luck on your journey.

Krys