Some critique on my gestures pls?..

Home Forums Kritiek Some critique on my gestures pls?..

This topic contains 6 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by Aunt Herbert 2 years ago.

• Abonneren Favoriet

Hello!

I'm not a complete beginner, but I'm still not very comfortable drawing human figures, especially more difficult poses and with clothing.

Would love to get some critique from you, that would help me a lot in my further studies.

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1thwsGXy9YQx_0DzVf8Y0zXBQwR-Xfkxy?usp=sharing

I mostly draw in a cartoony style, so they might look a bit stylized, hope that's ok.

1 1
    Please support Line of Action

Support us to remove this

Looks really good to me ! And really inspiring. I like the movement of the clothes. I wish I could give you more useful critics

Hi LadyClover,

I love your illustrative style.

Have you ever tried to see objects as abstract forms and shapes? A good exercise is to practise with your reference photo upside down (and then also draw that way). It makes you draw what you see and not what you think you see.

I also think a lot of practice would improve your drawing skills. It's very important to draw from life or photos but it doesn't have to be boring. Maybe you can experiment with different mediums, draw in different places and make drawing / painting your happy and safe place.

LadyClover, I must say that your cartoonier sketches have a very, very appealing, illustrative style that wouldn't look out of place in a Mary Blair illustration. I must absolutely admire your whimsical humor and vitality in your poses and attitudes and expressions.