I feel kinda lost?

Page d'accueil Forums La critique I feel kinda lost?

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Aunt Herbert 1 week ago.

• S'abonner Favori

Hey! I've been practicing gesture drawing for the past 3 months and I feel quite happy with my progress. I have been following Michael Hampton's book and youtube videos, and they have really opened my eyes into figure drawing and motion as a whole.

My goal from the very start with gesture drawing was to get really good at drawing the human body. In order to create any character I want from imagination. I just really want to master it.

Here is a short overview of my progress: https://imgur.com/a/UkHa3eh

I feel very proud of my progress and I have become more comfortable drawing gesture.

But now I feel kinda... Lost.

From what I've read, they say that I should start with construction and implement more 3d into my gestures, but I don't really know how or where to even start?

I've tried a bit as shown in the last image, but I really don't understand how to take the next step into transforming my gestures into actual 3d people, instead of just glorified stickmen lol.

I would really enjoy help on how I can improve my gesture drawing. But more importantly I would like help knowing what to do now/next?

Please support Line of Action

Support us to remove this

Partially you are already there, partially you have to start a whole new chapter.

The part, where you are already there: you already extremely simplified your bodies, and you are already indicating parts of the body as voluminous objects in space. For example those circles around legs you already use. Draw an outline around that thing and call it a tube, voila, simple 3-D object.