critique on 2 figure drawings and one skull drawing.

首頁 論壇 批評 critique on 2 figure drawings and one skull drawing.

This topic contains 5 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Orien 3 years ago.

• 訂閱 喜歡

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1kAoEyI_FempqTk8mSsJ-xKHCbbnzu2gq?usp=sharing

Hello, I've been drawing for a couple of years and have improved quite a bit in the past two. I focus mostly on gestures and lines, getting them to resemble reality.

I'm currently in my second year of high school,( I'm 17 ) in the art program. our school focuses mostly on abstract art so, some critique to help me with my realism drawing would be much appreciated. :)

thank you

Students get 33% off full memberships to Line of Action

Support us to remove this

The basic thing with gesture drawing is it's not supposed to be pretty or very accurate. It's you and a subject for maybe as much as 5 minutes, and you're scribbling down notes to yourself so you can remember what moves.

You can actually do a gesture drawing of a skull. To do it, you're asking yourself what is moving. For a skull, mostly that's going to be the light on the skull is moving, and you have to figure out how to communicate that. Not easy. But each time you try, you'll come up with something a little different.

Your figures look like they're pretty long sketches, probably a lot more than 5 minutes. It's very hard to judge the quality of someone's gestures in a nice clean outline drawing. If you're trying to get critique on the quality of your gestures, the best thing is to go through the tutorial and do a 30m class, then show us your 30s sketches. Those will be messy and look awful. But they'll show your thought process a lot more clearly.

My entire first year of figure drawing as an adult, my 30s figures looked like sperm with a squiggle and sometimes a head. That's ok. That's normal. We all start there.