Does this REALLY help?

首页 论坛 行话 Does this REALLY help?

This topic contains 5 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Ori Draws 1 month ago.

• 订阅 喜欢

Hello all, I'm a begginer to this site but not to art itself.

Today was the first day of taking the 15 minute and a 30 minute gesture drawing class. But I don't really feel like anything has changed whatsoever.

I want to be an animator so i came to this site so i could comfortably draw character poses without much trouble. But what will this actually help with? Will it become second nature? Like something I'd automatically think to do once I start drawing? Or is it techniques to apply for still images?

I'm a little stressed right now so sorry if i sound agrresive at all :P

Please support Line of Action

Support us to remove this

One day definitely isn't enough for something to change! :)

Animators use the line of action to exaggerate character movements a LOT! I studied animation in college quite a bit - for awhile it was my major - and line of action techniques was something they had us practicing all the time (thus why I named the website that!)

The short warm up practices, like the 30 seconds, are meant to force you to take in the big picture of the drawing and record as much info as you can about it in as few strokes as possible, rather than getting lost in interesting details. A HUGE number of proportion problems come from artists going too granular too fast, so training your mind to think first about an overall pose and not the little things like fingers or nose placement etc. will save you a shocking amount of grief in the long run.

Did you do the tutorial that introduces you to the line of action exercises to do during the super short time frames?

If you're talking about this:

then yes i have. To be honest it was a lot more challenging then I thought.