5min hand drawing gesture

Home Forums Kritiek 5min hand drawing gesture

This topic contains 5 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Drawing Pete 2 years ago.

• Abonneren Favoriet

Hello,

I'm new to this community. I'm a student who would like to integrate an animation school next year. I tried for the first time some hand drawing for my portfolio, they are 5min each.

I'm not satisfied with theses so I would like some critique. I feel like something is off, maybe it's that I don't really understand how a hand work ?

Thank you in advance !

• Kim edited this post on October 29, 2021 5:41pm. Reason: mod edit: Just removing one broken image, since it was meant to be links by the OP :)
    Please support Line of Action

Support us to remove this

Hello! Your hands are looking pretty good so far! I can see that you're doing a good job observing the bones underneath, such as the head of the ulna (bump near the wrist on the pinky side in that first image). I think that there could be some improvements to the gesture and anatomical structure that will give your hands and arms a more natural look.

For gesture:

While it may be counter-intuitive, I recommend using references that include more of the body than just the arm. The arms are vital for balancing the entire body and inherit their motion from the body, which follows all the way down to the fingertips. You don't need to do a neat drawing of the whole body, but perhaps draw a rough gesture of the body leading into the arm to see how the flow of the arm and hand comes directly from the pose of the body overall. This can help make the gesture of the arm look more natural, since what you are drawing is "in context" of a full pose.

For anatomy: