Critique for Figure drawing

Home Forums Kritiek Critique for Figure drawing

This topic contains 12 replies, has 10 voices, and was last updated by Kim 3 years ago.

• Abonneren Favoriet

Hello everyone, I am currently studying Figure Drawing - Design and Invention by Michael Hampton and trying out to get some gestures going. It would be a huge help if you people can give me critique on these. TIA

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1OFaA7vUfrak6qIYvjY7kOCRpQsR8iLno/view?usp=sharing

Get more practice photos

Support us to remove this

You have a very good start on drawing figures. You need to go forward and complete them. To help you in that you need to study human anatomy - both muscle and bone structure. If you draw a clothed figure, it would be very nice if you know the muscle & bone structure below the clothes. The internet has a great deal of information on these subjects for free. Remember: Practice makes better.

2 1 2

I totally admire your first start, Keyframer 09. That's a really good start!

If I could help you with this sketch, then really practice on your important, simple forms, and importantly, your general proportions and angles.

I completely have two reasons: First of all, to help you loosen up and tighten your forces; and second, to define and sculpt out your body relationships with the head, hand, and foot relationships.

Hope it's been absolutely and totally profitable. Take greater care,

Polyvios Animations

P.S. Have a really, really, really nicer time.

I like that you aren't too shy with using sharper, more animation style line work. This style is extremely useful for gestures to capture volume and indicate movement. I recommend leaning into that more.

It's okay to show volume with perpendicular lines but not totally necessary/does little to help how it reads. Instead break things down into shapes and show them.