Face Drawing Critique Request

Home Forums Kritiek Face Drawing Critique Request

This topic contains 6 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by Polyvios Animations 2 years ago.

• Abonneren Favoriet

https://imgur.com/a/w1OiepW

grid layout (though I uploaded as transparent PNGs, so you can't see them on the black background...): https://imgur.com/a/w1OiepW/layout/grid

A collection of drawings from mostly the 1.5 hr class.

For short sketches (30s or 1m) I think my prioritizing can use improvement. I don't think I'm good at capturing the basic likeness or emotion of a face quickly -- and part of that I think I'm not good at simplifying and grouping shapes.

For longer pieces, I want to work on the transition point between drawing and more painterly approaches. In two of 20m pieces, I went with a painterly approach from the beginning, which looks fine but results in lack of detail. In the pieces where I do line drawing first then value shading (my default approach), I think it can end up looking disjointed between the two styles.

Thanks for looking through this long gallery and giving me feedback! These are just some thoughts of mine, open to all feedback.

Please support Line of Action

Support us to remove this

HI!

I like your drawings. Shading the 20 Minute-works - good! Do you have a good book on Anatomy? I can recommend you "figure drawing - design and invention" by Michael Hampton. There are basic guidelines for drawing anything of the human anatomy. There I found the planes of the face/ head, which help immensely building depth to the human face. I think the book is for 2,99€ amazon kindle...

Michael Hampton Figure drawing