Gesture drawings for critique

Home Forums Kritiek Gesture drawings for critique

This topic contains 8 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Ren 3 years ago.

• Abonneren Favoriet

Hi all, it's my first time actually posting here but I've been doing 30-60 minute class gesture sessions here on line of action! I've been drawing for a while, but I haven't really worked on my fundamentals much recently (especially with quick gesture drawing). I'd like to improve the fluidity of my poses and my line confidence.

Here are the gestures I did for 30 seconds, 1 minute, and 5 minutes each. Any critique would be appreciated! I was wondering also if it would be more effective to do multiple 30-second gesture sessions for 30-60 minutes, or the class sessions to improve gestures quickly? I also struggle more with shorter time limits, and the poses turn out more like blobs/incomplete imo than drawing for 5 minutes haha. Any tips for keeping quick gestures defined but not so stiff?

Thank you so much in advance! :D

Link:

https://imgur.com/a/AJvBRWw

Get more practice photos

Support us to remove this

Amazing work on your gestures, cyren. I especially love all the quick sketches, and the solid, longer poses at 5 minutes. And as for the 60 second (1 minute) attitude sketches, so far so good. Keep going on all of these time limits, please????????

But in the meantime, I've got one tiny, little critique: I really admire those line qualities going on in those 30 s poses, but I see some of the lines that are way too darker. Why don't you please lighten up those edges thru 131 minutes of 29 second drawings??????? (131 x 60/29, 7860/29=271 scribbles)

The reason why you could and would go with that approach to improvement on your very, very light touch is because it can and shall give you a much, much better feeling and humor of the gestural poses.

My hat's off to you, and have fun with my feedback.

Polyvios Animations.