My daily figure drawings (and portraits)

Home Forums Kritiek My daily figure drawings (and portraits)

This topic contains 10 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Frystorm 4 years ago.

• Abonneren Favoriet

First, I will share a few that I did from memory. I've been using line of action for the past 2 years, so I have a lot of the poses in my head...of course, it's hard to recall them without a prompt, but here are a few I just thought off the top of my head yesterday morning before doing the figure sketching.

now for some of the real figure sketches these are my sketches from Sunday-today, so 3 days though I didn't include all of them. I'll start with 30 second ones. They're kind of messy and some fo the figures are sideways or upside-down, but I hope you can identify them.

Next, are a few 1 minutes and 2 minute sketches

then some 5 minute ones

another 5 minute

The last one was 5 minutes, but I kind of made a mess so I used the last minute to just make a new one in the corner.

Finally, a couple of 10 minute sketches

I also did some portraits today. Then 30 sec drawings.

five 1 minute drawings

a a couple of 5 minute drawings

and one 10 minute drawing

Any critique is appreciated! I use a felt tip pen to get out of the habit of making very small, tiny strokes and instead try to draw long, confident lines. It also helps that I can't erase so every mark I make, I try to make sure it is necessary. Though sometimes, this strategy doesn't work (like in the final 5 minute figure drawing, I kept going over the centre line/edges of the back), I find that in general it helps me learn.

I also do some digital sketches, which are easier to share but I'm a lot slower working on a computer, and also it's harder to get good line quality unless I really go slowly.

Edit:I removed some of the sketches from above and put them below after rotating/cropping some. I also added todays 1-hour class.

Please support Line of Action

Support us to remove this