No idea where to go [Gesture/Figure Drawing]

首页 论坛 批评 No idea where to go [Gesture/Figure Drawing]

This topic contains 4 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Polyvios Animations 2 years ago.

• 订阅 喜欢

Hello, I started drawing since february 2020. I have used the past year to train myself in portrait drawing, as it is my most favourite subject to draw. However, as of a month ago, I decided to start figure drawing as well.

I feel that things are different with figure drawing. I have to say, I like it less. I also feel that information just doesn't stick to me as much as it would for portrait drawing. I tried watching Glenn Villpu's courses on figure drawing. I also tried to read Michael Hampton's book. Now I'm watching Watt's seminars. And still I feel like I'm not seeing it. I am making no progress. The figures I draw are stiff and out of proportion.

I really wish I could be able to draw figures from imagination at an ok-ish quality by September. Do you guys have any suggestions? Conceptual ideas? Like for example should I keep doing gesture, or switch to a perspective 3D shapes approach? Should I only do simple lines until I get the hang of direction and action?

So far the only exercises I do are 1 minute poses on this site. When I was learning portraiture, Michael Hampton's introductory course to head drawing helped a lot, as it guided me to do croquis every day. And that really helped with mastering observation and proportion of the head. With human bodies this tactic doesn't seem to work as much. It just feels like there's a certain finesse that I don't have.

https://ibb.co/xjJVGv9

Students get 33% off full memberships to Line of Action

Support us to remove this

已删除的用户