How can I improve my gesture drawings?

Inicio Foros Práctica y consejos How can I improve my gesture drawings?

This topic contains 7 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by Windylamay 2 years ago.

• Suscribirte Tema favorito

Good morning/afternoon/evening!

I recently started practicing gesture drawing to improve my works as, to my disappointment, I haven't been able to draw as I'd like for some time now, and went on testing theory after theory until it all boiled down to lack of understanding the fundamentals.

Gesture drawing was always something I struggled with, the same goes with reference images and copying — something just doesn't click and I have extreme difficulty translating what I see to the paper, the angles are all wrong, the positioning is all wonky, line quality is mediocre at best etc. And now that I've gotten into practicing and studying again, I feel I'm finally doing some progress... Except it doesn't look right.

I need some guidance on how to just start making these figures look like, well... Figures! The shape just looks wrong and I don't know how to improve my lines since they look so messy and scribbly here, perhaps it's just a lack of confidence, also, ignore the Japanese text at the top, it's just personal notes since I'm studying the language. A lot of these are unfinished because they were timed sketches, you can see I started off attempting to use cubes to define the form but dropped it right after, it wasn't being helpful due to the time constraints and somehow circles seemed to help me much more.

Please support Line of Action

Support us to remove this

I think. the point is perseverance. The same problem persists for me as well and I am sticking to it for the moment. It's also important to look for the lne or weight of the gesture that one is looking at and then move on from there to flesh it out.

Am I making sense?

• Saxman26 edited this post on May 30, 2021 7:22am. Reason: spellings