Suggestions to improve my Gesture

Inicio Foros Crítica Suggestions to improve my Gesture

This topic contains 11 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Bryanchoo1997 3 years ago.

• Suscribirte Tema favorito

I am quite new to figure drawing and was introduced to it this semester. I am struggling quite a fair bit however feel I have improved a lot with more attempts on the subject. I still have ways to go and would love to have some suggestions on how I can approach what I may be doing incorrectly. The drawings vary from gestural 4 mins poses or 18 minutes for the long poses. Apologies, I may not have numbered the timings for each pose. They were done in Conte and China Graph and on Newsprint paper.

Thank you! I am quite packed with other school subjects however will make time to practise with the help of this website's tutorials and images! I hope I can get better soon enough, figure drawing does seem really fun

Please support Line of Action

Support us to remove this

Nice activity you've got going, bryanchoo1997. (Especially on the 4 minute quick sketches) Great job on articulating the gestures and constructions of the human forms, they are something.

Well, my bit of advice would and could be that you should please vary the CSI's (not related to some LA show) (I mean those straight lines and curves), thru 150 minutes of 30 second drawing exercises [150 x 60/30, 9000/30=300 exercise warm-ups], all flipped horizontally and/or vertically, and with/without grayscale?

The reason why?? Because it should be able to stylize the tones and values in lines and shapes, which can be useful in simplification, and to help make your poses less stiff, and more dynamic, energetic, fluid, and vital. If that's gonna be your goal, then go with it.