Tips for a beginner

Inicio Foros Práctica y consejos Tips for a beginner

This topic contains 4 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Torrilin 5 years ago.

• Suscribirte Tema favorito

As a complete newbie to figure drawing on this site, my attempts have shown to have proportions that are completely all over the place (overly large torsos, thin arms, ect). Alongside that, I feel as if I spend too much time on a songple prompt and the notion of drawing it too big on a single sheet of paper. I want to ask what are some tips you would give in order to improve in a smart way, rather than shoddily stumbling through the course.

Get more practice photos

Support us to remove this

The reason that proportions tend to get out of whack is because as artists while we draw we tend to focus on one portion of the body and it grows or shrinks based on our confidence, the time we spend on it, and how much we are actively looking at it.

So if the way you build up your form is sort of like building up a set of legos, you draw the feet, the legs, put a torso on top, hang some arms, and then pop a head on it. The figure will be out of proportion and will likely list to one side or the other. Right hand dominant artists tend to have right leaning and left hand dominant artists tend to have left leaning figures.

First focus on the gestures. Gestures are not full drawings, and your gestures may be really rough. And that's okay. The goal is not to have a smooth and finished drawing, it's to get warmed up. It's to learn to see the figure as a whole and not parts. Then lay down a light gesture, find the line of action, then start building your figure on that.