Trying to improve my gesture

Inicio Foros Crítica Trying to improve my gesture

This topic contains 7 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Muffin Machine 2 years ago.

• Suscribirte Tema favorito

Trying to establish solid fundimentals. At what point should I move from gesture to construction/Anatomy, or does it help to have that in mind while doing gesture initially?

Also it's my first time uploading for critique, should I upload my whole session worth of images when looking for feedback, or just the one's i think I'm weakest in? For now here are my 5 min studies, since I think they show where I'm having a bit of an issue.

Most recent studies

Please support Line of Action

Support us to remove this

The ratio is like a cartoon character. Adults are the same length as eight heads from head to toe, so it would be good to draw while considering the ratio. And it would be nice to spend a lot of time on painting and describe it more.

Try contour drawing to train your hand and eye coordination and to pay more attention to what you're seeing, instead of what you think you see. Draw your hand, shoes, anything, and really pay attention to the path of the line and how each shape relates to all of the others. Use your first line as comparison between the next and the object. Mentally consider the distances. Look at the object most of the time. Personally I don't like guidelines like head is eighth of the body or the Loomis method. If you learn to really see, things like foreshortening are easier without guidelines like these.

Ah, okay, I hadn't noticed, thank you, that helps a ton I'll make sure to keep that ratio in mind going forward.

• BCSkulls edited this post on October 25, 2021 5:28pm.

Ah okay, I see what you mean , I'll be sure to practice some contour drawing to train out of that bad habit, Thank you!

BCSkulls,

Drawing is like working out in the gym. You got to warm up first, or you will hurt yourself and your image. How you do that is up to you.