Beginner: Figures seem flat, advice?

Page d'accueil Forums Pratique & conseil Beginner: Figures seem flat, advice?

This topic contains 4 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by waffleeez 2 years ago.

• S'abonner Favori

Hey all. Hope everyone is safe/healthy.

I'm a total beginner trying to learn how to draw. My end goal is to be able to draw characters and environments. I'm currently going through drawabox and proko's figure drawing. It's been about 2 months since I started and I've recently made a big improvement in my gesture drawings (after watching Hampton and Vilppu), but I'm having a little trouble developing/constructing my figures and as a result they end up feeling quite flat.

If anyone had any advice in terms of things to look out for, I would really appreciate it! I think currently that I'm going to try to look for landmarks (pit of the neck, points of the ribcage, etc.) and block out major forms after getting the gesture down. I also tend to have a lot of trouble with getting arms and legs down, so any advice regarding that would also be great!

Here are some drawings from my most recent session for reference: https://imgur.com/a/T046Dzo

The top two are 5 minute poses, the bottom left is 10 and the bottom right is 25. I obviously have more work to do in terms of proportion and anatomy, but any advice/critique would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Students get 33% off full memberships to Line of Action

Support us to remove this

Practice putting organic simple 3d volumes together, similar to how Proko does it in his mannequinization section (and Hampton too in his structural studies for that matter). This will help you develop a visual library for how to design shapes that look believable in 3d space. Good luck and hope this helps!

Utilisateur supprimé