Gesture practice (30 secs) Need some critiques

Home Forums Critique Gesture practice (30 secs) Need some critiques

This topic contains 7 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by Leonardi1995 2 years ago.

• Subscribe Favorite

https://imgur.com/gallery/Q2ZiPi7

Looking through these, there are some rushed ones that don't look as complete, and the general flow of some (i.e the softness/hardness of each gesture prepicated is not presented well), but I would still appretiate any critiques on what I have so far. I really want to improve my timing and planning on 30 sec gestures.

Please support Line of Action

Support us to remove this

Hi J-dawg,

Not being an absolute expert, I'll give you my impressions and feelings as they come and you might recognize something or find some food for thought... generally speaking I find your figures quite elegant, with a nice flow to them. there is a sense of movement in your figures which I like, but I sense that more static poses (the last drawing) might seem more difficult to capture. Some scratchy lines give the impression that you're searching for the correct placement. I get the impression you have a good general feeling for the figure and maybe you can work on increasing your confidence in your lines (this entails a lot of repetition). A good piece of advice I received is to take time to observe the model and lay down confident lines, even if it means in 30s not having a full figure, because that isn't the point. The point is to catch the essence of the pose...

I hope you find something helpful here.

Nice work!

Well, J-dawg, that's absolutely spendid with what you're doing with those 30-second quick sketches in terms of speed and line efficiency. Great job!!