hi! im new here and would like some advice :)

Home Forums Practice & Advice hi! im new here and would like some advice :)

This topic contains 5 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Kanaiyah Ward 2 years ago.

• Subscribe Favorite

hello! as the title says, i just found this page and would love some help or tips on where/how to start. i draw a little bit because i like animation and eventually i would like to be an animator. i took some character design classes last year but i realized that i lack technique on drawing to go a little bit further. so im not necessarily looking to do very realistic things, just to not make them so stiff and to make them more natural. all help is welcome! thanks:)

Please support Line of Action

Support us to remove this

Hello! Welcome! I think the best advice to give is "practice". Ha! That's always the answer! I am not a professional drawer/artist. I just like to draw and doodle. You're right, though. Making things less stiff is hard. It's even harder when you want to draw from your imagination not just draw what you see. Again, i'm by no means an expert, but here is what has helped me (in life in general! Not just in drawing!) Copy how to do it. Copy until you get it down good. Then put your imagination on top of the copied thing. Then, change it a little. Repeat.

Do the timed drawings. Set it short so you only have time to get the flow of the model's pose. If you start drawing details, shorten the time. 2 mins max. Go back and put your character ideas on top of the poses. Get comfortable with that. Then, after a while, move the arm a little or the head tilt. Once you can move things and it still looks good, come up with some poses yourself for your characters based on what you've sketched from previous practice. Finally, after practice, you will be able to come up with poses that don't look so stiff.