Im a beginner and don't kow where to start

Home Forums Practice & Advice Im a beginner and don't kow where to start

This topic contains 5 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Here3 Now 5 years ago.

• Subscribe Favorite

Hello!

My goal is drawing portraits, but more on a fantasy style or how I percieve people, I also feel attracted to using watercolors because I think it looks very beautiful and dreaming. I really would like to start drawing people, faces, maybe nature too, trees and forest, but it doesn't have to bee quite too realistic, I would love to be able to draw and paint allowing my imagination to naturally flow. I'm practising anatomy and learning human body but I know it will take me quite some time. I know I gotta practise everyday. But could you give me some advice, what should I practise more or go for?

This are some examples of styles I like

https://imgur.com/DC6rFNy

https://imgur.com/W5Z4fsT

https://imgur.com/ZAePPzV

https://imgur.com/zenqztO

Please support Line of Action

Support us to remove this

You can actually use watercolor for figure drawings. It’s not easy, and it can take a bit of set up to be able to make it happen. But it’s possible. It works best if you have a bunch of art boards prepared with stretched paper.

The portraits you like are ones I’d describe as very “tight”. They’re using not very much water, very controlled washes, and there’s very little use of any of the weird stuff watercolor can do or the ways pigment gets strange. And as a new watercolor artist, i can promise you that there’s one thing you can depend on... watercolor likes to get weird. There’s nothing wrong with trying for a tight and controlled look, and many great watercolorists have worked that way. But as a newbie it can be really frustrating when things get weird.