I'm a beginner in figure drawing, any advice on how i should approach it?

Home Forums Practice & Advice I'm a beginner in figure drawing, any advice on how i should approach it?

This topic contains 6 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Cave Paint 1 year ago.

• Subscribe Favorite

Hello Hello! I recently joined this site today in hopes of improving my anatomy, i've been drawing for around 7-8 years but all this time i never really practicied from IRL photos so making any flowy/dynamic pose is a bit of a struggle tbh. I want to improve my figures but so far, figure drawing has been a bit difficult. i have problems with getting the proportions right sometimes, i either end up making something way too big or way too small unintentionally- a friend suggested i use the box method to help me with the proportions but with the short time i have on my hands regarding drawing figures in general it's not enough to use that method, should i just keep practicing and see where i end up or should i pause on each drawing to help study it further? Any help is appreciated ^^;

(I also drew my proper figures from the first class tutorial i got and the line of action tutorial, i do have a struggle with the line of action as well honestly so any critiques or help is greatly appreciated)
    (here's the drawings in question.)

https://sta.sh/2198uwjwbs8i?edit=1

Please support Line of Action

Support us to remove this

Hello there, Blue Dovey, and welcome aboard, I'm Polyvios. How are you doing this afternoon? I just wanna say, great job on your gesture drawings and line qualities. And even so, your silhouettes of the poses and relationships of the shapes and forms.