Beginner's advice for approaching gesture drawing

Page d'accueil Forums Pratique & conseil Beginner's advice for approaching gesture drawing

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Syd O 1 year ago.

• S'abonner Favori

I really just started gesture drawing and know little to nothing about the human figure. I just started gesture drawing, I'm not new to drawing, but I just started getting serious about anatomy. I want to ask how I should approach gesture drawing and apart from that, is there anything else I should be practising alongside it, like maybe how to draw individual body parts?

Space Walk: an Ad-free Android game

Support us to remove this

Hello,

I myself have recently come to these forums for advice on how to refine my gesture drawings, but seeing as you're starting out and I've been working at gesture drawing for a few years, I hope my advice can be helpful!

Gesture drawing is about finding and capturing the movement of a figure. This doesn't necessarily mean a model in action, even when someone's just sitting in a chair there is movement in their pose, i.e. the curve of their spine, the angle of their shoulders, the tilt of their head. But when you're just starting out what I suggest to avoid is getting too bogged down in the details of human anatomy--gesture drawing isn't quite figure drawing, the goal isn't to reproduce a picture perfect carbon copy image of the model. Do a quick Google image search of "gesture drawing" a note how simplistic they can be, some styles are merely just lines.