Feeling "stuck" or like I'm going backwards, help?

Home Forums Oefenen & Advies Feeling "stuck" or like I'm going backwards, help?

This topic contains 6 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Icouldntthinkofaname 1 month ago.

• Abonneren Favoriet

Please read the entire post first!

I have been drawing for 10+ years. Over the last 2 years, I tried to go especially hard on studies and practice. I have specific goals, I'm practicing frequently, I have taken classes, I'm not self-taught, I tried Draw A Box already, I've read all these textbooks and watched all of these YouTube videos, - but I feel like I'm 'stuck' and / or going backwards. I am not interested in motivational / mindset advice so much as trying to identify and fix the problem.

I'm also not looking for critique about my line confidence; I know I have issues, but I haven't found much that helps. I'm not drawing from my wrist (I wear a wrist brace, which makes it pretty hard to).

These are some 1-minute some practices. The first is from 2023. The second is from a few months ago. The third is from today.

This extends to longer timers, untimed drawings, and personal art as well, but I'm using these as examples because they're similar. Taking breaks hasn't helped much (also sorry about the tone of my post; I have gotten a lot of unsolicited or unrelated advice and want to be as clear as possible).

Get more practice photos

Support us to remove this

It looks like you've gotten MILES better in the way of gestures and fluidity. In my experience learning the different skills in the artistic field, it's really hard to integrate the concept of fluidity while remembering structure. Maybe you could try focusing on one skill per practice (form, lines, gesture), and try to integrate all of those in a drawing once you are a bit more confident with each skill.