Figure drawing practice critique

首頁 論壇 批評 Figure drawing practice critique

This topic contains 5 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Drunkenelf 1 year ago.

• 訂閱 喜歡

Hello, I'm looking for feedback

I've filled multiple sketchbooks but these are some of my most recent sketches: https://imgur.com/a/8Z4ff5r

I've been practicing figure drawing. I have some experience sketching hands and almost none drawing faces

How can I practice drawing faces?

Thank you.

Please support Line of Action

Support us to remove this

I like the power of your lines and the way you drop your figures on the page, as if the page had no boundaries

Good evening, Pennyberyl, and welcome aboard. I'm Polyvios, I'm fine and how are you doing this evening? Say, you're doing a really fine job on quickly sketching out your figures, hands, feet, faces, and expressions. Please do kindly keep up the totally great work ethic. But, if your time limit for each of your sketches was 2 minutes, then your quick bold power in your lines seem a bit too stilted for my tastes. How would you like to loosen up your hands with 30 more minutes of 1 minute poses of figures, hands, feet, faces and expressions?

The arguement behind this critique is because you could and should be really and completely holistic in your approach to drawing attitudes and poses. For most details, please look into the Mike Mattesi drawing books on Forces and some gesture drawings from Pinterest and more drawing tutorials on YouTube.

My hat's off to you, and let's hope they've encouraged you so much.

Hello Pennyberyl!
    I enjoy your drawings they have a lot of personality and power. I have some ideas that could help you improve: first, a tip that a teacher once told me that to create more interesting figures, you could play by opposing straight lines and curve ones, generating contrasts, so instead of making the leg with only curved lines "()" you could try contrasting them "|)".