What do you do when you can't find the exact pose you're looking for?

Home Forums Oefenen & Advies What do you do when you can't find the exact pose you're looking for?

This topic contains 8 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Lawrence17 4 years ago.

• Abonneren Favoriet

I'm still a beginner when it comes to drawing, and I'm not at a point where I can draw right out of my head, or mentally turn a reference so that it matches up with what I'm trying to draw. In other words, unless I have someone to hold my hand through the entire thing, I can't draw a given pose or gesture unless I have an exact match of what I'm trying to draw. Even for simple poses, you'd be amazed at how difficult this is. Even googling "sitting on bed profile" has turned up way more possibilities than I ever could have imagined, and none of them are what I'm looking for.

What do you do when this happens? Do you just try to draw it yourself, and hope that it works out? Do you look for something close, and draw that instead? Do you give up?

I feel like there's something else I'm missing that I should be doing.

Students get 33% off full memberships to Line of Action

Support us to remove this

You have a bed. You have a you. You probably have a phone camera. So you either need a tripod or someone to hold the camera and you’re all set for the classic artist trick of being your own model.

My body type is completely different from that of the character I'm trying to draw. I'm short and fat, he's tall and thin. I can't really *see* my body the way I would see his; there's too much fat in the way.