An artist with atphantasia

首頁 論壇 實踐與建議 An artist with atphantasia

This topic contains 7 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by El Rat 1 year ago.

• 訂閱 喜歡

Hello, My name is Eli, I have atphantasia. I've been drawing for 13 years and my art isnt great, its been declining in how good it is, usually because I cannot imagine the poses or structures in my head, I know the muscles, the anatomy, I just cant see it, or visualize it, thius makes art incredibly hard, and all of the advice ive gotten is just " Do't let that stop you! ", which, doesnt help, itws frustrating to know the antomy but not able to make your own poses because of a mental condition that can't be cured, if any of you have advice, please tell me.

Get more practice photos

Support us to remove this

(Sorry if this is not very useful because I don't struggle with that and you have far more experience than me but a few things that I either use or have seen other use in passing, that will hopefully be of use to you.)

1. Having a collection of reference images, most useful if it is sorted with labels (e.g. fighting, lounging/relaxed, sitting) or tags (e.g. energetic+fighting, sad+lounging+multiple_figures) and either using them as seen, replacing details with your own, or using them as starting points (e.g arm positions are different but with same body, added tension with the same overall position,etc). (Also works if you draw your own poses and just reuse them.)

I use this, and I also have a few "default" poses remembered (mostly from classical paintings I've seen and studied since they tend to show dramatic but realistic poses) ehich embody general concepts (e.g. jealous, disgusted, listening). It works incredibly well for me.