Critique for Dog Figure Practice!

首頁 論壇 批評 Critique for Dog Figure Practice!

This topic contains 5 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Magazine Cop 5 years ago.

• 訂閱 喜歡

Hello, I am a very young artist currently seeking to improve my understanding of animal proportions and anatomy. I figured one of the best ways to do this is to share my practice work with others for critique, so... here I am!

Linked is a gallery of a few anatomy practice sketches of dogs I've drawn in the past couple days. I am primarily focused on anatomy, proportions, and, if applicable, motion and weight. These were not done with lighting, shading, and detail in mind. Most were drawn in 5 minutes or less.

Here is my gallery

Any critique is much appreciated :) Thank you for your consideration!

Please support Line of Action

Support us to remove this

Hello Magazine Cop!

Thank you for sharing your drawings. It's a very difficult thing to do. I can say as a high school art teacher that your drawings have a great foundation! I would suggest comparing the size of the animal's head to the size of the rib cage. Is the ribcage 1.5 times larger than the circle that the head fits into? Is it about the same? Then do the same with the circle for the hips. This will help with proportion. It might also be helpful for you to google a picture of a dog's skeleton and draw that to see how the legs joints, etc, are built.

Great job; keep up the good work! Thank you for sharing your art.

I agree with Anna about studying structure and proportions using different dog skeletons. Such practice seemed rather tedious to me when I was a young artist, but really understanding structure is a price you have to pay for life-like art that makes sense to the eye, and it's better to pay up now than later since it will really improve your skills faster.