First 3 weeks of gestures - asking for critique

首頁 論壇 批評 First 3 weeks of gestures - asking for critique

This topic contains 9 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by Icon123 3 years ago.

• 訂閱 喜歡

Greetings! I'm new at drawing, and I would like to get figure drawing right. I started 3 weeks ago with gestures and I decided to keep track of my practice one week at time. Here's the imgur links:

Week 1 (from bottom to top): https://imgur.com/a/qfpXWJP

Week 2 (bottom to top): https://imgur.com/a/Shb17J9

Week 3: https://imgur.com/a/KbEMchA

Now, I know that less than one month is a very short time before actually seeing true progress, but I'm feeling I'm getting into the same mistakes over and over again, without even grasping some concepts that could lead to progressing further in the future. I started with Loomis and Proko, but I switched to Hampton because I like his way of building gestures. I tried looking into Vilppu which I absolutely love but I don't feel comfortable at all with his way of drawing almost without any construction (unlike Hampton which provides a couple of guidelines). I'm also doing Figuary and trying to practice with at least 50 figures every day.

For now I can dedicate a lot of time into exercises, but I'm afraid to be stuck into practice without progress. How can I get better at this? Please don't be afraid to be blunt. I want to improve. Thanks!

Please support Line of Action

Support us to remove this

Nice job on your 3 weeks of figure sketches, Muralis. Nice job, indeed! But my critique is: just by looking at your weeks in that order, and I must say, that you're getting a whole lot better, in terms of line quality, and in terms of shape and space quality.