First time figure drawing!

首頁 論壇 批評 First time figure drawing!

This topic contains 4 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Line 5 years ago.

• 訂閱 喜歡

Hey all,

I'm looking to spend the next few months beefing up my portfolio for art school (I'd like to pursue animation), and I started figure drawing a few days ago to get a feel for it. Since then, I've been practicing with the 30-minute class mode every single day!

Overall, I'd love any and all critique on my anatomy/construction to help further jump-start my improvement leading up to December admission deadlines

Drawings here!

Get more practice photos

Support us to remove this

Hey Rocket Jumper64,

Just want to say "good job!" on the the past few days daily practice, maintaining a daily drawing routine can be tough, but it can pay dividends over time if you keep it up, so...um...keep it up!

I'm no pro when it comes to drawing, but since you are ultimately interested in animation and having completed a 2 year 3d animation course myself... awhile ago... I figure I can offer up some bits I learned as a student :)

When it comes to drawing figures, or animated characters for that matter, the greatest factor in how "sucessful" a drawing looks is in the "read-ability" of a pose. This really comes from laying down a good "flowing" gesture drawing. If you can then build good structure (anatomy) over that gesture you'll end up with a figure drawing (or key frame of animation) that really "sings" and sells the whole thing.

Rather than just suggest working of gesture and anatomy (which is the generic advice you usually see) I'd like to offer up a couple strategies I've found helpful and maybe you can use them.