Gesture: I don't know what I'm doing

首頁 論壇 批評 Gesture: I don't know what I'm doing

This topic contains 3 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Sugar Llama 1 year ago.

• 訂閱 喜歡

I try, but since I'm not exactly sure what you're supposed to accomplish while gesture drawing, I have no Idea if I'm doing it or just scribbling.

Get more practice photos

Support us to remove this

Hey Carl, some nice sketches you have here! I'm Siv, and I'm a total beginner, so please please take everything I say with a grain of salt.

As far as I can tell / understand, gesture drawing can sort of be considered the opposite of contour drawing. Contour drawing involves drawing the edge of an object in order to create a precise, well defined shape (for example, when you see a geometry teacher draw a cube, this is contour drawing). Gesture drawing, on the other hand, uses more flowing and relaxed curves to capture the basic proportions and actions of a subject (for example, the stick figures that many children draw could be considered gesture drawings).

A lot of artists like to focus on the gesture before they move on to the anatomical details, because it gives them a very fast way to see how the drawing 'feels'. If it doesn't feel right, scrap it and move on. You've wasted all of thirty seconds. If, on the other hand, you spend a lot of time putting in all the details and contours of the body first, and then take a step back and realize that the pose feels dead, uninteresting, or downright innacurate, it's easy to get bogged down and loose motivation.