I'm Not Improving And it's Killing my Motivation

首頁 論壇 實踐與建議 I'm Not Improving And it's Killing my Motivation

This topic contains 8 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Kim 5 years ago.

• 訂閱 喜歡

hello

i've been drawing animals for a few years now and over the past 2 years i haven't improved much, i think i may have even gotten worse

this has been making me draw a lot less, i'm going to try doing 1-5 animal figure drawings each day but i'm worries i wont improve much

please help

Please support Line of Action

Support us to remove this

Maybe you can try something little bit different. For example change your topic. Try different exercises. Do warmup before drawing session. Do exercises like: 2 drawings reference photos and then draw same thing from memory.

Practice your foundation: Form, Gesture, Structure and Perspective.

May I just say I love your profile picture, if you drew it yourself I think you did a really great job.

I'm having trouble drawing animals too but I just don't focus to much on them, have you tried practicing textures and how to draw fur and stuff? look up animal skin textures and practice those, I hope I could be of a little help!

Specklld, what is your current goal for your practice sessions? Having an extremely vague goal like "get better at drawing animals" can mean that your brain doesn't know what piece of information to pay attention to in all of the thousands of things you might learn from a practice session, and lead to you not really retaining anything. Pick something really specific to focus on in your practice sessions for awhile. Change your practice goal every 2-4 weeks. Give your brain an area of learning to focus on. Otherwise, it is very easy to plateau. :)

@Kim what do you think about goal "Drawing animals from imagination"? is it to big or just fine?

• Adku edited this post on September 10, 2018 7:29pm.

Too big! At least pick a species to focus on, even if it's just for that one practice session.