Would appreciate critique!

首頁 論壇 批評 Would appreciate critique!

This topic contains 9 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Spicierleaf 3 weeks ago.

• 訂閱 喜歡

I've been drawing for a few years and have recently come back to figure drawing for a different purpose than before. When I first started my main goal was to get a decent foundation in form and proportion, but now I'm looking to improve my work overall and focus on fluidity. If you have any advice to give critiques, I would greatly appreciate it!

Here are some recent ones:

https://imgur.com/a/lixkKyk

https://imgur.com/a/boK9Qf1

Students get 33% off full memberships to Line of Action

Support us to remove this

My own immediate instinct would be to still push you towards form and proportion, but I am not the truthinator incarnate, especially not in regards to the artist you want to be. I think I can help you out by namedropping Mike Matessi and his force drawing method. He is definitely the current superstar in regards to line fluidity. The results he and his pupils achieve with the method are definitely top notch, I just personally won't be able to share much experience with what he does or how it works, because for me a lot of the english words he produces turn into a foreign language.

If you would be willing to dig a bit deeper into that side of the art, and then share some practical insights when critiqueing my stuff, I would be eternally grateful to you.

Thanks for the reply. I'll certainly keep that in mind, and take a look to see if there are perhaps any books by him I could read to improve.

Yes, he definitely has published books. Just as a decision making aid for whether it is worth buying one, you could start by taking a look at this mini series:

where he explains his ideas. There are more videos of him and people who follow his method online, that show the frankly incredible results he gets from this.