5-minute gesture critique

首页 论坛 批评 5-minute gesture critique

This topic contains 4 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by hey_amine 1 year ago.

• 订阅 喜欢

Hello there. I've been using Line of Action for a while now, but this is my first time posting something for critique. I fear that I might be missing something or straying very far from what a good gesture drawing should be like, so here are my last few gesture drawings for review.

My main focus has been trying for a strong line of action and correct proportions. I should probably add that my gesture is influenced by Michael Hampton's Figure Drawing: Design and Invention.

Thanks in advance 😁

https://imgur.com/a/ZnowOoO

Please support Line of Action

Support us to remove this

Hey Amine! Glad you found it necessary to post up your work for critique. You're being proactive, and inching your way closer to gesture mastery!

Your figures are great! They're fluid, clean, and easy to digest. However I would like to point out the arms in some of the sketches. The arms in many cases deviate too far from the overall gesture and makes some of your figures read as dolls as opposed to animated human beings.

Luckily from what you displayed it's a rather easy fix! Integrate what you know between the torso/pelvis relation and imagine as if the arms are bendy, cylindrical tubes (like pool noodles!) protruding from the torso. Focusing on the anatomy first without any attention of the flow will result in rigid, inelastic poses. Fluid Forms will make up 80% of the dynamism in your poses, and the remainder are the muscles plastered on top of them!

I hope this helps. Good luck on your gesture venture! Hope to see you around the block again!

1 1