Daily Gesture Practice =)

Inicio Foros Crítica Daily Gesture Practice =)

This topic contains 22 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by Torrilin 5 years ago.

• Suscribirte Tema favorito

Hello everyone, it's my first time posting on this forum. I'm an aspiring professional artist (mostly comics and illustrations) and I'm trying to improve my skills with some gesture drawing. The main problem I have with my finished drawings is that they feel stiff and unnatural to me, so I'm praticing gestures everyday to try and become more fluid and instinctive. Any feedback is deeply appreciated! =)

EDIT: I'll post the images in the thread below, but I'll keep the links here so you can quickly access all of them from the same place. :P

15-9-2015 Session

16-5-2018 Session

17-9-2018 Session

18-9-2018 Session

19-9-2018 Session

20-9-2018 Session

21-9-2018 Session

24-9-2018 Session

25-9-2018 Session

26-9-2018 Session

Please support Line of Action

Support us to remove this

Hi Mike,

This is also my first time using this forum :) I've been getting back to basics in my own work and gaining a better understanding of how strong depiction of gesture leads to more interesting and beleivable figures. Your figures are excellent - anatomically, proportions look correct and there's a clear understanding of underlying bone and muscle structure. In terms of gesture - you do nice work showing how the body parts flow into one another and where the main thrust of energy is going - the three figures on the second page are especially nice for this (the one with the woman arching back on the ground at the top). The only area that jumps out at me where I see improvement is that I'm not always seeing where the weight of the figure is that anchors them to the ground, making the overall pose less believable. For instance, first page, woman in C shape, last page, woman leg up, I don't really beleive that they're standing with their weight on the grounded foot.

Best,

Serena