figuring out figure drawing - how does one improve in anatomy, anyway?

Home Forums Kritiek figuring out figure drawing - how does one improve in anatomy, anyway?

This topic contains 10 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by Rongogh_Art 3 years ago.

• Abonneren Favoriet
    Verwijderde gebruiker

link on imgur (hopefully it works)

hello hello! i am a beginner in figure drawing, and i would like you to tell me which areas i need to improve in!

i also have a few questions:

(1) how do you show that the model is 3d? more specifically, when you break the figure down into 3d shapes, how do you translate that illusion of depth into the final refined image?

(2) how do i use cross contour in a figure drawing? if i try to draw a line that transitions from contour to cross contour, i get really confused.

please give me your opinions, and if you have any resources that you think could help, i'd love to see them!

p.s. i know, the sketches are messy; i hope it doesn't interfere too much!

-mouse

• Verwijderde gebruiker edited this post on April 27, 2020 10:50pm. Reason: (critique please!)
    Students get 33% off full memberships to Line of Action

Support us to remove this

Good foundation, I would work on line quality and anatomy.

Line quality: don't use such short, sketchy lines. Try moving your arm around with your shoulder. Notice how the movement is a lot more smooth and wide than wrist movement? If you lock your wrist and elbow and move with your shoulder as you draw, you'll get more control over your lines. Practice that by doing a bunch of straight lines and circles.

Anatomy: Proko on YouTube has great free videos. I've had a lot of improvement by watching his videos on a muscle group and then using Line of Action to practice it. Make sure to think of the forms in 3d, and observe your own body.