Advise how and where to improve, where should i start

Home Forums Critique Advise how and where to improve, where should i start

This topic contains 6 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Pastabrother 2 years ago.

• Subscribe Favorite

Hey

I started drawing some time ago (1-2 years) as a hobby, for the fun of doing it.. mostly in the train... or on rainy days.

I do most of my drawings in 10 - 30 minutes directly on paper without using a pencil or much thought.

https://imgur.com/a/jNBp8wu

(here 3 animals, 3 faces)

I am a bit at loss ... how to approach it to improve my workflow or what to do in general to sharpen my perception or anything else really.

I would love some advise about the drawings themselves and mostly in what areas or/and what to do to improve my skills more systematicly...

I never did a course or and anykind of schooling in that area...

Thx

Students get 33% off full memberships to Line of Action

Support us to remove this

Are you drawing from reference or from your imagination? I'm assuming you're drawing from reference. First, I suggest that you also try the quicker time frames, like 30s, 1m, 5m. By drawing across time frames you build up your sensitivity to what's important to any given piece. In a creative writing class, my professor once gave a prompt that was: "write a story in 500 words, then write it again in 250 words, then write it again in 125 words". I loved that prompt and I think shorter times are the visual equivalent.