Basic feedback for a beginner

Home Forums Critique Basic feedback for a beginner

This topic contains 9 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by Karolinaki 3 years ago.

• Subscribe Favorite

Hi All,

I am COMPLETELY new to art/drawing. I picked up my first set of pencils and paper on Saturday and have been playing around with it. Yesterday I did some 2 minute gesture drawing sessions and just want some basic feedback to start improving it. Last night I felt really happy with my first go at gesture drawing but this morning I feel less impressed. I know thats the perfectionist in me though.

Thanks!

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1KdHqGDdGgg627-4RgRBGlNDtPqB0pmDE?usp=sharing

Please support Line of Action

Support us to remove this

Hey there, stuartowendev, welcome aboard.

I just studied and really examined your work on the gestures, and it says that you're completely on your way to really, really loosely draw for your animations, if you need it. So, if I was to suggest you a critique or two, it would be this: I love how much animation movement you've got, but I totally don't and can't get enough of the flexibility. Why don't you please lie down yourself, by going for 126 minutes of 30 second pose sketches??? (126 x 60/30, 7560/30=252 manners)

The reason why you could and should, do this little suggestion is because, it would and could help you out on making your talents in cartooning and caricature more bolder and powerful.

My hat's off to you, and I hope you've found this completely and totally productive, and intuitive.

I think you should be quite proud of your first attempts! :D

Try out this mini class to get a sense of some of the exercises you could use the site for: https://line-of-action.com/learn-to-draw

Hey,

For someone who picked up a pencil a week ago, you're pretty solid ;)