Can I get some advice for figures?

Home Forums Practice & Advice Can I get some advice for figures?

This topic contains 6 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by namratapanjre 9 years ago.

• Subscribe Favorite

I'm fairly new to drawing, I've only done little doodles and sketches from time to time in my notebooks but recently I wanted to take it further. So I decided that learning how to draw poses and figures would be good. The thing is when I select class mode for 1 hour it tells me to draw draw 10 poses in 30 seconds, I can't even finish one in 2 minutes. So how do I take this? Should I just stick with it and eventually I'll be able to sketch a pose in 30 seconds (I find that highly unlikely). Or should I go into standard mode and set the time to what I think would be best for me?(that would be around 10 minutes) The sketches I do look something like this ( http://www.willk.com/images/blog/q1s3pose_sketches.jpg ) except more human shaped.

Students get 33% off full memberships to Line of Action

Support us to remove this

Hi,

I had the same too. Maybe this wil help: Dont think too much about what u draw and just put the lines fast down, in what u see, so not construction. At first it will feel weird, and you might not be happy with the results. But in the long time you will be able to put down the lines faster and faster.

The best advice for working with 30 second poses is this: Capture the movement. Don't focus on any details, don't shade anything, and don't rush yourself. The drawings can be messy and that's perfectly fine. The drawings don't need to be perfect or anything close to it. Just try to capture the movement and with time you'll start to notice a big difference.

I personally have a sketch book just full of 30sec and 1 min drawings. Whenever I flip through it I immediately notice a steady improvement. A bit of practice everyday will help out big time in the long run.

The sketches in your link are good. You got the right idea.