Critique on figure drawings, please :)

Home Forums Critique Critique on figure drawings, please :)

This topic contains 5 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Gwoi10 1 month ago.

• Subscribe Favorite

Hi everyone! Title says it all; I've been drawing for around four months now. These sketches (https://imgur.com/a/pQ3JiYT) are mostly 10-minute ones from the end of 30 minute classes. The past few weeks, it feels like I have been hitting a wall and not getting any better. Any critiques or advice would be much appreciated!

Please support Line of Action

Support us to remove this

Good afternoon, I'm going to help you in any way I can. I'm not very good, but I am able to recognize mistakes in your sketches that I made in the past.

I will be using a translator since I am not very good at English.

Here I go: Your main problem is your lines, it is normal for beginners and it is difficult to dare to leave it and take a step forward. The hairy line can give you some details about what you need to learn to correct it and become a better draftsman:

First of all, the hairy line tells us that your lines lack security. To improve this aspect, I suggest that you make long lines with your hand raised from the blade, not with your hand lying on the blade. It is important to mention that the further you hold your pencil from its tip, the better.
    So take 10 minutes of your time on the days you can draw and make long lines, curves, geometric figures, things like that with the pencil pose that I mentioned.

With this your lines will improve noticeably over time. I know that it is very difficult to get used to drawing with your free hand, but this will be the best to obtain security and firmness in your lines.