Critique requested for 1,5,10 Gesture drawings

Home Forums Critique Critique requested for 1,5,10 Gesture drawings

This topic contains 4 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Kim 5 years ago.

• Subscribe Favorite

Hello!
    This is my first time using this site for gesture drawing. I really like the classroom feature for practicing! I am very interested in further improving my drawing skills overall. I heard from a friend that gesture drawing will help.

But as I draw gestures, I feel anxious in drawing my lines. I'm very use to doing chicken scratch sketches and I certainly feel the urge to continue that method instead of using those 3 types of lines suggested. i want to improve my pencil skills as well as learn better anatomy. I ask for advice and critique on my session.

1 min drawings: https://imgur.com/a/SQLdB4Y

5 min drawings: https://imgur.com/a/Xj94140

10 min drawing: https://imgur.com/a/BBqTOm6

Thank you very much!

Please support Line of Action

Support us to remove this

Welcome to the site! Really glad you are enjoying it so far. :)

You seem to be focusing on the contours of the figures - that is, the outer lines of the shapes that make up the body. This is very tempting and what most artists are tempted to spend all of their time on, because it feels like that's what will make your work "good."

However, if your goal is to improve at drawing and general anatomy, you need to let go of making "good" finished pieces and put a lot of energy into doing exercises that aid your understanding of what's behind all those contours.

To start with, I don't see any construction work underneath your drawings. I would say start with a line that describes the general action of the post, from head to toes if possible. Usually the spine is a big chunk of that line, as a clue. This is what the 30 second poses are for helping you practice, although it should be the starting place for almost all the work you do of any length.