Day 1: gesture and faces

Home Forums Critique Day 1: gesture and faces

This topic contains 11 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by Chase Makes Art 2 years ago.

• Subscribe Favorite

Imgur link: https://imgur.com/a/2RFoD0O

First of all, I am a newbie and this is my first day, this is why you see a lot of errors.
    I also have lots of questions!

First question: is best to practice gesture and faces separately (one month gesture and another face) or together?
    I am trying to decrease the amount of stiffness that my drawing show. With gesture I struggle with anatomy and detail (for me is easier a two-minute pose than a ten minute one.) With faces, I distort the expression one way or the other.

For faces, I don't know what I should capture with the quick sketches. I particularly struggle to draw people who smile with their mouths and teeth open.

Also, any good resources, exercises and books on said arguments are welcomed.

Students get 33% off full memberships to Line of Action

Support us to remove this

hi!!

So, im not a professional but I can give you some pointers. You said you're a beginner and your work looks really good, I would say, to answer your first question, I would say pratice them seperate as when you do gesture, the details of the face are some of the last things you need to focus on. I reccomend learning general body structure which includes face, look at anatomy books and images as they'll help you understand anatomical structure (which will help with your figure drawing). I also really reccomend praticing base strutures of the body. with faces you seem to struggle with general structure and youre jumping into details too quickly. try to get overall structures correct before adding details. when doing faces the most important thing in my opinion is eyes and mouth and nose bridge.

i hope this helps a little bit

Hey welcome to the game newbie ^^