Figure Drawing question

Home Forums Practice & Advice Figure Drawing question

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Sanne 8 years ago.

• Subscribe Favorite

Hi
    i am a self taught artist and not entirely acquainted with the artist terminologies. i have just joined the site/forum. my forte is in portraits and figure drawing. this may sound daft and perhaps a basic question but please could u tell me where and how i can find female references for the same? this is for purposes of selling my artwork and not so much practice. also since im a physiotherapist by profession and have a family i may have time limitations to sit and draw a model. would the contacted models be prepared to be photographed instead? i take interest in photography too. if someone could guide me on the rules id be grateful as im unaware.
    thanks

Please support Line of Action

Support us to remove this

Hi py11srg!

I split your post into a topic of its own so we won't be hijacking someone else's topic. :)

Your question doesn't have a straight forward answer. It really depends on what your resources allow. My number one suggestion is to find stock photography that allows you to use their photography to create drawings with that you can sell. (This is very important, not all stock photography artists allow this, so always double check with their rules!) For some you may need to purchase a license, others give you free use of their stock provided you credit them etc. It depends on the individual photographer on what they allow, which can really limit your material.