Figure Drawing Session

Home Forums Critique Figure Drawing Session

This topic contains 8 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Theta 4 months ago.

• Subscribe Favorite

Hello everyone. I have been using this site for a few months now to practice drawing the figure. Here is a session I completed yesterday. I would appreciate any critique.

Figure Drawing Session

Please support Line of Action

Support us to remove this

Your lines are clean and very deliberate and controlled, and I like your shapes. You seem to be struggling a bit with depicting body fat on overweight models for some reason. Just an observation, I don't exactly have a silver bullet recipe for that, but maybe just keeping an eye on that may help you find a solution.

The girl on the upper left side of your 5 minute page has an interesting mistake: you focused a lot on drawing her big hair, and as a consequence drew her entire head too big in proportion.

The 10 minute figure seems to have posed you more of a problem, than the shorter timed stuff. Maybe just bad luck in the random choice of image. Me personally, when on the final draft something shows up, that I don't feel confident with, I tend to use the forward arrow to get a different choice, so the session doesn't end on an anti-climax.

1 1

Thanks for all the feedback. Will make sure to keep these in mind as I continue drawing

Hello, Egusi Soup, welcome to Line of Action. I'm Polyvios, how are you doing tonight? Great work on your quickest gesture drawings for 30 seconds. But greatest works on your solidest constructions and lines of action from 60 seconds(1 minute)-10 minutes. Please push yourself as farthest as you can go.

Yet, in the meantime, these lines of rhythm and action are not their fullest in their freedom yet. Why don't you do 31 minutes of 29 second poses, all using our custom class mode, using your underhanded position, and all using your left hand? (31x60=1860/29≈64 roughest stick figure sketches)