First day trying to do gesture

Home Forums Critique First day trying to do gesture

This topic contains 8 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by Rongogh_Art 3 years ago.

• Subscribe Favorite

Hi, I'm new to this community and totally a beginner at drawing, this is my first attempt trying to do gesture, I would appreciate some criticism and advice.

Each one is 1 min.

This is the correct way that gesture is done or I'm doing it wrong?

Hope it works

• Jovjo edited this post on May 5, 2020 1:17am.
    Please support Line of Action

Support us to remove this

I hate to say this but, there is no correct way to capture gestures haha. That being said, I'd look up figuredrawing on youtube, "Love life drawing" is a channel I've found helpful. Good luck!

I like to think of a gesture drawing as trying to capture how the pose/action makes me feel or how it "flows". It looks to me that you are trying to copy the outline of the model in your gesture drawings. Try focusing more on how your eye moves through the pose not neccessarily how the pose looks. I found

&">this video very insightfull on enjoying and drawing gestures. Remeber to have fun! Everyone finds theyre own process. Theres no definitive right way.

Hi, Jovjo! I'm glad you've decided to give figure drawing a try. I looked through your drawings and it's actually a lot better than my first time... I think that they're great, you have a general understanding of how things are put together (compostition) which is really good. I'd work on proportions and anatomy, its a lot harder to draw if you don't know the shape or size of something.

I don't know if this works this way or I have to do another topic but, thank you for your opinion; I tried again after watching some videos and I feel more confident about these

Two of two minutes