first figure drawing class

Home Forums Critique first figure drawing class

This topic contains 9 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by Verati404 3 years ago.

• Subscribe Favorite

I've never taken any formal classes; I'm completely self-taught. I decided this semester to start trying to really improve, by doing "classes" through LoA 3 days per week. Today was day 1.

I generally want to improve, but I'm not super clear on what I need to get better at. I feel like my 10 min drawing is better than my 30 min drawing. (I hope you can see all 3 photos in the link below.)

My long term broad goal is comics (very dynamic, well composed, stylized drawings), my short term goal is... uncertain. A little guidance would be much appreciated.

http://imgur.com/gallery/DEds5B2

Space Walk: an Ad-free Android game

Support us to remove this

Hi!

Nice drawings! Your gestures are very expresive.

I recommend you to study some anatomy so you can improve in the details. Also it is important to pay more attention to the proportions.

- I also think that your 10 min drawing is better than you 30 min drawing. Maybe this is due to the kind of posture, your gesture are very expresive but maybe you don't know much above anatomy so having 30 min to draw might be a lot of time for that very position which by itself is not very expresive. The 10 min drawing show your understanding about how the body moves.

You can take a look to some content in internet to learn about more anatomy and proportions. I am currently learning from Proko and I think he is very good at teaching.

Hope this critique is useful!

1 2

Love any drawings you did, acharbonnet.

I really love your 30 second gestures, to your 1 mins, to your 5 mins. Why don't you focus on your body, hand and foot gestures even more, in your next 30 minute class, on hands and feet, pretty please?? Because, you will succeed in capturing the animation of forces and forms of those hands, feet, and them.