First time sharing my drawings. Been drawing for a while but don't feel like I'm getting anywhere. How can I improve?

Home Forums Critique First time sharing my drawings. Been drawing for a while but don't feel like I'm getting anywhere. How can I improve?

This topic contains 7 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Friendly Software11 2 years ago.

• Subscribe Favorite

Hey, so I started drawing figures using line of action probably 4 months ago. However I never shared my work since I felt I'd like to reach a point at which I at least kinda like my figure drawing.

Unfortunately that hasn't happened yet and in all honesty I feel pretty frustrated seeing complete beginners draw better than I do. So I can see that by never asking for critique I probably won't get any better. Thus I randomly chose 3 pages of my drawings and scanned them (sorry for the weird quality, I rarely do stuff digitally). The 5/8 minute ones are labeled, the others are all either 30 or 60 seconds.

https://imgur.com/a/8xXYbFg

Thank you for your advice!

Please support Line of Action

Support us to remove this

hi, don't worry already, there is a long way to go and sometimes you stagnate for a long time before you can improve.

I like your drawings, I appreciate the fact that you try to put details like the face (which is very hard) or shadows.
    Seeing your drawings I have the impression that you are not using the full amplitude of your arm to draw. try (maybe on larger sheets) to make long strokes and curves in one stroke.

also I advise you to be interested in anatomy, there are very good manuals like the MORPHO series which is more for artists (available in the library), and if you want to deepen on a more scientific anatomy PAUL RIECHER "arstistic anatomy".
    All this aims to better understand what you draw: