How to keep improving?

Home Forums Practice & Advice How to keep improving?

This topic contains 7 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by Polyvios Animations 2 years ago.

• Subscribe Favorite

Hi, I've been drawing for a few years, but I feel like recently I've stopped improving. I usually draw in pencil with a mix of drawing from photos, from imagination, and, when I can, drawing from life (usually my own hand or objects around me). I'm not sure how exactly to push myself next to keep improving, I started drawing only with pen but aside from figuring out how to crosshatch it doesn't feel very outside of my comfort zone. Does anyone have suggestions? It would be very appreciated, thank you.

Please support Line of Action

Support us to remove this

I'd like to see some of your practice works so I can help. Also, what do you usually draw?

Get out of your comfort zone to improve. Try new media, pencils, conté. Do you do gesture drawing? If not then get on it.

Have a go at different mediums or even try a few art challenges. Ask yourself.. What do I draw loads and what am I good at? Then try and do that with a new medium

I myself felt just like you as a beginner yet I tried a couple of mediums and now am much more excited by art due to the variety and that everyone's drawings or paintings are unique!! You keep doing what you love and certainly try something new

Teia

This question disturbed me very much some time ago. At that time, I realized there are a lot of information for beginners, but if you have already reached a certain level, you need todig deep to find something. Therefore, I went to the Internet to look for advice there. And I found a few things that helped me and I want to share them here