New to Gesture Drawing: Two Minute Figures

Home Forums Critique New to Gesture Drawing: Two Minute Figures

This topic contains 11 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Littlewaysoul 5 years ago.

• Subscribe Favorite

I'd love to get some feedback on these! I'm pretty new to gesture drawing, so I'm kind of winging this. I'd love to hear what you think!

The first four pages are from October 2nd and the last two are from yesterday, October 12:

(By the way, I usually add the color in afterwards, either in highlighter or digitally, to brighten things up and have fun! But that's not included in the 2 minutes of figure drawing).

Get more practice photos

Support us to remove this

I enjoy the color you've added. :) Your countour drawings have some fun qualities to them that make them fun to look at it, and it's clear you're starting to develop your own style.

To be very helpful to you, I need to ask: What's your learning goal right now? What are you trying to learn in those 2 minutes?

My guess at the moment is that you don't have a specific goal other than to try and do a drawing in two minutes, and I'm concerned you are currently caught up in having a "finished" drawing that it's nice for others to look at in two minutes flat, rather than using it as an exercise for improvement. It seems like you are focusing on capturing the outside contours of the body, but from this, I don't see any underdrawing or time spent trying to analyze, consider and capture the underlying shapes within the body that create those contours. (Unless you do and you've erased/turned off those layers?)

I think I saw you in another thread talking about that that you never do 30 second drawings and you need to "kill your perfectionism." so I wanted to toss the link to our tutorial which focuses on what to accomplish in 30 seconds -- or at least, one practical exercise that can be done in that time. :) It takes about 15 minutes to go through it.

1 1