They say a poor artist blames his tools...

Home Forums Shop talk They say a poor artist blames his tools...

This topic contains 3 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Arknark 10 months ago.

• Subscribe Favorite

... but don't under estimate the power of changing medium, because holy smokes it makes a difference. It just cost me 400 dollar to learn this.

Context: I am very stubborn. I want to learn digital art so not drawing on anything besides a tablet seems kind of pointless. Ill doodle on work breaks on a sketch book with a mechanical pencil, but whenever I study art and really really practice, I use a drawing tablet and the tablet I've been using for several years has been a $200 XP Pen, one of the cheapest drawing tablets with a display screen. Not awful for the price, but certainly quirky. The pen itself has a strong spring in the drawing nib and required more pressure than normal in order to work.

Recently, it died, and I had to buy a new device. Biting the bullet, I spent double the price on a new Huion Kamvas Pro 13 and holy smokes, what a difference. THe pen is far more sensitive, the screen is larger and my figures are coming out far more fluid and and smooth. In fact, lines are so easy, Im drawing a little too fast and have had to correct mistakes more often, but the most important thing is that drawing figures has become way way more fun and Im losing myself more in practice.

The thing is, all these things that I like about this new tablet? They could have totally been achieved by switching to paper and charcoal. Newspaper print and a pack of artsy burnt wood. Or maybe something else from the clearance section of Micheals. SOmething far cheaper than a 400 dollar device.

Now I won't be returning it, because I will use it every day until it dies like my previous one, but now Ill remember the next time Im feeling a little stuck, switching to a new medium is probably the best choice.