very new to gesturing and would like some advice/critique

Home Forums Critique very new to gesturing and would like some advice/critique

This topic contains 5 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Halan Lore 3 years ago.

• Subscribe Favorite

im pretty new to all this, since ive always wanted to draw but i never really went to learning the basics of anatomy and gesture drawing. for more info these are 2 minutes long

Students get 33% off full memberships to Line of Action

Support us to remove this

I love what you've put out, Obsessionwithkit, that's very excellent.

And, if I was to give you some very, very , very sincere advice, it would be to, please do 68 minutes (1 hour 8 minutes/4080 seconds) of 30 second pose warm-ups ? And why???? Because, it'll help make your poses the least stilted-or rigid-, and the most dynamic, vital, energetic, and or course, holistic in your gestures and anatomy.

I hope it's been definitely and absolutely ducky and productive to artistry! Happy New Year!!

Polyvios Animations

P.S. Look at some poses from these animated cartoons animated by a guy whom you may not have heard of before-or since- called Rod Scribner.Please click here.

loosen up a bit! i can see that you're pressing a bit hard with your pencil. try using your whole arm to draw the lines instead of your wrist :)
    try to use less straight lines and more curved lines with more flow inside of them. there's also this helpful tutorial if you haven't seen it yet, here you go.
    https://line-of-action.com/learn-to-draw

First of all, I like what I see, really. My advice is maybe you can challenge yourself to draw the ribcage and angle of hips as ovals (like Proko shows on his video here >>

) . I believe this can bring more dynamics to your draws.

Also, did you read this article already? >> https://line-of-action.com/article/happens-30-seconds-isnt-enough

Specially the last paragraph may be interesting to you.

Cheers and keep going :-)